kathybryson

Award Winning Fantasy with a Twist!

Magic Realism Bloghop 2016

mr bloghop cropped(1)Time for the 2016 Magic Realism Bloghop, exploring where magic and reality merge! We’re looking at what happens when you add “fantastic or mythical elements into otherwise realistic fiction.” Click on the blue frog button below to visit over twenty blogs posting about magic realism. New posts will be added over the next 3 days, so come back to read more.

I have been reading both of Juliet Blackwell’s series this past week because I’ on vacation between semesters and it’s 90+ degrees outside. I not only don’t want to do anything; it’s too bloody hot to move!

So I’m escaping into worlds where witches solve mysteries and home renovators see ghosts as part of their normal, every day lives, and it’s lot of fun. I’m a little jealous. So I’ve come to the conclusion that perhaps this desire is the real reason we cling to magic in our scientific, rational world.

I wrote in previous blog hops about how magic acted as an explanation for the unknown and how magic acted as an explanation for the unthinkable, but literary and sociological analysis aside, wouldn’t magic just be nice to have in real life?

images2 I don’t care who you voted for – admit it, the primaries were a complete mulligan! Wouldn’t it be nice to go back in time for a do-over, particularly when the alternative is collecting petition signatures for campaign reform from whomever does end up in office?

imagesHow many times lately have you tried to find something specific that was only available online or through a buyer’s club or cost extra for ‘free’ shipping? Wouldn’t you love to walk into a store and get exactly what you want when you want it at the price you’re pretty sure you saw earlier that seems to have disappeared? For that matter, why have to pay at all?

images3And while we’re at, could everything just fit? Not be too tight, or pinch, or come in a really weird paisley? Could your favorite flavors not be discontinued or in a smaller package or only seasonal? Because you know it makes total sense to only stock fans at the beginning of summer!

It would be so nice to give life just a little tweak now and again, to smooth out those awkward daily interactions. Maybe wishful thinking is an even simpler explanation of why we’re drawn to magic and the supernatural, why we look for otherworldly signs and intercessions. Then again, if we could change the world on a whim, the highways would be a river of hopping, green horny toads, former thoughtless drivers one and all!

How would you, do you, exercise magic in everyday life? moving-eyebrows-smiley-emoticon

13 comments on “Magic Realism Bloghop 2016

  1. Jessica
    January 29, 2023

    Lovely blog you havee here

  2. Lynne Cantwell
    July 31, 2016

    How would I exercise magic…? The mind boggles. But I think I’d settle for a couple of hours without interruptions every day. I might even use the time to write.

    • kathybryson
      July 31, 2016

      Hi Lynne, It’s kinda like winning the lotto. Fun to fantasize, a lot harder in reality!

  3. drstephenw
    July 31, 2016

    There’s lots of magic in my life, but if I had some real magic to wield I think I would use it to relax, have time for a deep breath, and appreciate the magic around a bit more. Thanks for your blog, Kathy.
    Stephen Weinstock.

    • kathybryson
      July 31, 2016

      I agree! Appreciating the magic we have is very important!

  4. Zoe Brooks
    July 31, 2016

    I think I would add a few hours to each day during which no one could see me and I can do what I want.

    Thanks for your contribution to the blog hop. I always enjoy reading what you have to say.

  5. Justin Meckes
    July 30, 2016

    To answer your question, I think I write magical realism just because I can’t see the magic in everyday life. It might be an effort to force myself to believe it’s there. To infuse it, if you will. Why I do that might be something I have to blog about. Thanks for the post!

  6. Robin Gregory
    July 30, 2016

    I’m not sure many people would use that kind of magic wisely. Thank you for a lovely blog, Kathy!

  7. allonymbooks
    July 29, 2016

    Ah, less of the day job and more of the writing love affair, of course!
    Evie

  8. Pingback: Magic Realism Bloghop 2016 — kathybrysona | The Ends Don't Tie with Bunny Rabbits

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.